Reviews

Book Review: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

PicsArt_07-22-03.47.32

Screenshot_2017-07-22-03-48-26

Title: Heartless

Author: Marissa Meyer

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Pages: 453

Published: November 8, 2016

My Rating: 5 stars PicsArt_06-03-01.44.45

 

PicsArt_06-07-09.32.57

“It was impossible, and she absolutely believed it.”

Catherine Pinkerton lives in Hearts. She is the only daughter of Marquess and Marchioness. King of Hearts fancies her to be his wife and Queen of Hearts. But Catherine has other plans. The throne of Hearts does not appeal her. She is a baker at heart and has a dream of opening her own bakery where she could make delectables that no one has ever tasted. But that is not the only thing she dreams about.

Both her dreams can lead her astray from a reputable life. She could either choose to follow her dreams or be a part of gentry she despise.

But is the choice really hers to make???

 

PicsArt_06-07-09.27.16-1
Heartless is inspired by Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. This is not a retelling, to be precise. Though the novel is set in the same magical place of talking animals and other mythical creatures. It is like Marissa Meyer borrowed some characters from Alice in Wonderland and spun a new fantasy novel around them.

And I found this novel to be very enchanting except for the first 40 percent where we are told about Catherine’s bakery dream and her struggles to avoid King’s proposal, numerous times. Not only that, it was too irritating to read again and again about how much the Marchioness wants Catherine to marry the King. Trust me, every time the Marchioness asks Catherine if the King has proposed her or not I was like why not she herself marries the King. She was so desperate that it all started to get boring and I was wondering if I want to further read the book or not. I am glad I did read it.

The rest 60 percent was just too good and I loved the twists and turns in the latter 60% of the book. I did not want this book to end. The main reason was Jest. I was so in love with this character. He is truly unforgettable.

 

Why I loved this Book:
1. Jest

“Impossible was his speciality.”

Once in a while we come across such a character that appeals us most. We want to read that book again just because of that character. Jest is that character for me in the book. He is funny, smart and handsome. A character beautifully written and would be engraved in the memory of the readers for a very very long time.

2. Hatta

Hatta is the same mad hatter of the Alice in Wonderland. He crafts wonderful hats. Reading about him created the image of Johnny Depp playing Mad Hatter from the movie in my mind.

After Jest, Hatta is my second most favorite character of the book. His weird sense of humor, sarcastic remarks and selfless nature make him unique.

3. The Three Sisters

Since I don’t want to give away any spoilers, I would only say the Three Sisters were the most crepiest, scariest and weirdest characters of the book and yet I loved them. Ironic, isn’t it?

4. The Chemistry and Spark Between Catherine and Jest:

They just click! You know the feeling of reading about lovers who are made for each other. The feels they give you.

“She felt like she could talk to him for hours, for days and months and years, and never tire of it.”

It feels like you are there sharing their beautiful moments with them.

She started to shake her head, to be firm in her stance that this, whatever this was, could not continue past this night, this morning, this very moment. ‘Jest . . .’
His eyebrows lifted and he looked pleased at the intimacy of his name.

Oh my God! It tickled my heart and tummy when I read the dialogues between the two.

I thought I could take a walk, look around. I’m still new to these parts.’
‘But you’re not walking. You’re climbing trees.’
‘It’s still exercise.’

The way he confesses his love:

‘Catherine, I don’t want your heart to belong to anyone but me.’

How he makes her smile and laugh:

He looked up at her and smiled that disarming smile again. ‘I’m a joker, my lady, which is even better.’
‘How is that better than a doctor?’
‘Haven’t you ever heard that laughter is the best medicine?’

5. Catherine’s Dreams:

Just read the following lines from the book:

Hundreds and hundreds of small, delicate hearts surrounded her – all of them bleeding.
She reached up and touched a finger to the soft flesh of the nearest bud, gathering a single drop of warm blood on her fingertip. Each bleeding heart bloom was a delicate thing, beautiful and haunting.
She crushed the flower in her fist, relishing the wet smear in her palm.

Needless I say anything. Her dreams were magical!

What I didn’t like:
1. Catherine

To be honest, I did not like Catherine at all. She was selfish and a hypocrite. The only good quality she has was her baking skills.

2. The Marchioness and her desperation towards King:

She was the most irritating character of the book. If she could, she would have forced Catherine to marry the King on gunpoint or canon-point.

 

PicsArt_06-07-09.32.16
I wanted to give this book 4 stars instead of 5 because of slower 40% part of the book. But I couldn’t. The fast paced 60% of the book was so full of twists and turns that were worthy of 5 stars. Plus Jest himself deserves 5 stars. What a marvelous character! What an amazing book!

 

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

  1. I absolutely loved this book!
    Though I have to admit that I probably would’ve liked it less if I had read The Lunar Chronicles first. Those would’ve upped my expectations a lot [understatement] and I’m pretty sure Heartless wouldn’t have lived up to those, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.